<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<rss version="2.0"
	xmlns:content="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/content/"
	xmlns:wfw="http://wellformedweb.org/CommentAPI/"
	xmlns:dc="http://purl.org/dc/elements/1.1/"
	xmlns:atom="http://www.w3.org/2005/Atom"
	xmlns:sy="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/syndication/"
	xmlns:slash="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/slash/"
	>

<channel>
	<title>Stop Ad Fraud &#187; travel</title>
	<atom:link href="http://www.stopadfraud.org/tag/travel/feed/" rel="self" type="application/rss+xml" />
	<link>http://www.stopadfraud.org</link>
	<description>stopadfraud.org</description>
	<lastBuildDate>Fri, 12 Mar 2010 19:27:28 +0000</lastBuildDate>
	<generator>http://wordpress.org/?v=2.9.2</generator>
	<language>en</language>
	<sy:updatePeriod>hourly</sy:updatePeriod>
	<sy:updateFrequency>1</sy:updateFrequency>
			<item>
		<title>Fake Website Templates &#8211; applying to ad networks</title>
		<link>http://www.stopadfraud.org/2009/10/fake-website-templates-applying-to-ad-networks/</link>
		<comments>http://www.stopadfraud.org/2009/10/fake-website-templates-applying-to-ad-networks/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Sun, 25 Oct 2009 07:00:49 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>admin</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[Fake websites]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[games]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[templates]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[travel]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[websites]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://www.stopadfraud.org/?p=43</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[Over time we have seen a large variety of bad publishers applying to join ad networks &#8211; one of the most frequent tactics is to use a site template that looks functional and deep upon basic inspection, but is actually just a simple template. A year ago, there were several e-commerce sites like this, but [...]]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>Over time we have seen a large variety of bad publishers applying to join ad networks &#8211; one of the most frequent tactics is to use a site template that looks functional and deep upon basic inspection, but is actually just a simple template. A year ago, there were several e-commerce sites like this, but the fraudsters probably realized that these are unlikely to make a lot of sense since ecommerce sites usually do not want advertising on them to distract from making purchases.</p>
<p>Thus a common type is the free games for download type of site. Here is an example of a recent site applying to an ad network.</p>
<p><a href="http://www.gameairport.com" target="_blank">http://www.gameairport.com/</a> &#8211; &#8220;free flash games&#8221;, click on one of the first games.</p>
<p>You will see a page with lots of empty spaces where ads are supposed to go, e.g. &#8220;300*250 Advertisement&#8221; and this will proceed further down as you are led around to lots of pages with more ad links on them. Others include:</p>
<p><a href="http://www.debugscript.com/" target="_blank">http://www.debugscript.com</a></p>
<p>Games are not the only category for questionable sites. Travel works well too &#8212; like<a href="http://www.siteaffiliation.com/" target="_blank"> http://www.Siteaffiliation.com</a></p>
<p>Click down into a flight search and you&#8217;ll find a broken link. But the first two layers look like a real travel site. It&#8217;s unclear what each of these sites does or will do but there is a large number of them proliferating out there, and you are certainly seeing them get into some ad networks. If they are just SEO/arb plays that is one thing &#8211; but anyone accepting &#8220;template&#8221; sites like these into their ad network should be on the lookout to see if anything odd happens&#8230; and let us know.</p>
]]></content:encoded>
			<wfw:commentRss>http://www.stopadfraud.org/2009/10/fake-website-templates-applying-to-ad-networks/feed/</wfw:commentRss>
		<slash:comments>0</slash:comments>
		</item>
	</channel>
</rss>
