Stop Ad Fraud | stopadfraud.org

Oct/09

12

GamingAhead – Impressions Fraud Continues?

GamingAhead.com showed up as one of the sites seemingly part of the Web Giant Media network mentioned previously by Yahoo!

In September 2009, two verified incidents were detected that involved this website. Many of the networks who have ad tags that are hosted on URLs that look like CDN links (content distribution network) have been informed, but some of these links still have live links that point to actual current advertising campaigns. One such example is below, rotating between several ads including a Nissan Ad, and several ads for Microsoft’s search engine, Bing, as of October 11th at 9pm Pacific time (click on the image to load the URL):

nissan-tinycdn

All of this was initiated by an AdJuggler ad serving call (we called AdJuggler and had them disable this advertiser, they wouldn’t divulge who/what company it was). It then called sites like xml.cdn-businessweek.com and celebgossipnet.com before it started loading up lots and lots of hidden iframes with adcalls like:

http://iskucoeksc.cdn.tinycdn.com/gamingahead_redux300.html
http://iskucoeksc.cdn.tinycdn.com/gamingahead_redux728.html
http://iskucoeksc.cdn.tinycdn.com/Gamingahead/cpx300.html
http://iskucoeksc.cdn.tinycdn.com/Gamingahead/cpx728.html
http://iskucoeksc.cdn.tinycdn.com/gamingahead_realmedia728.html

Here is a CSV file of the log of the several hundred ad calls — and some similar patterns to other previous attacks can be seen here. Many of the same large networks targeted in other frauds including some newer ones like Rocket Fuel.

One of the networks contacted did actually given out the payment information for the GamingAhead publisher, which was as follows, a mail-drop in Scottsdale, AZ with pay-to information for Publisher Direct Networks whose domain name is on the same server as GamingAhead.com:

Publisher Direct Networks

3370 N. Hayden Rd #123 PMB278

Scottsdale, AZ

Note the above payment information provided by one was confirmed by two other ad networks who were informed of this fraud and shut this publisher down.

Finding fraudulent publishers is difficult for networks and advertisers alike. GamingAhead.com seems like a legitimate publisher. While their traffic patterns on Quantcast were up and down, which usually means they were buying traffic and don’t have a lot of organic traffic, they were not completely with zero traffic (another bad sign). The site isn’t a cut-out template indicative of some other types of offshore fraud. The links between people working at Publisher Direct Networks / GamingAhead and the aforementioned sites/company Web Giant Media, including celebgossipnet.com are established in a variety of pieces of information available online:

http://www.gamingahead.com/news/126/

http://www.linkedin.com/profile?viewProfile=&key=22446345

http://www.classmates.com/directory/public/memberprofile/list.htm?regId=8702690189

The following references celebgossipnet.com and relates to the Vizi incident from before, and is from a person who appears to be a convicted felon in AZ with the same last name as the person above.

RSS Feed

1 Comment for GamingAhead – Impressions Fraud Continues?

Arnold15 | October 16, 2009 at 8:32 am

Looks like some of your links are no longer valid. That might be an admission of guilt if they only recently were changed – looks like at least one of them is still in the google cache.

Leave a comment!

«

»

Find it!

Theme Design by devolux.org